The Official Karelia
  Русская версияEnglish versionSuomalainen versio
  |About Karelia |Symbols   |Tourism |  Cooperation |

Residence of the Chief of the Mining Works

Residence of the Chief of the Mining Works

Residence of the Chief of the Mining Works

This is the oldest wooden building in Petrozavodsk, a monument of history. Up to 1917 it used to be the residence of directors of Alexandrovsky Plant and managers of the Olonets mining district. It was built in the 1770s as a factory office. In 1786 it was reconstructed to become a residence for Charles Gascoigne.

The house represents a unique for Petrozavodsk mansion ensemble made in the style of Classicism. Around the 2-storeyed wooden house on a high stone socle there are 2-storeyed stone extensions holding services and small wings built to face the street with their shorter sides. Pediment of the main facade is decorated with a large semicircular window. White angular pilasters, horizontal string cornices and figured window cases supplement the decorations. Facade turned into the garden has a more soft architectural treatment (interesting there is a double-height bay window of the main hall) that makes the building look like a country house from the 'inner' side.

Traditional mansion park in the Dutch Garden style gradually passed into a landscape park arranged in the natural pine forest. On holidays the garden opened for outdoor celebrations of workers of Alexandrovsky Plant. Garden of the Chief of the Mining Works, having merged with the Governor's Garden, has become a basis for the future Pioneers' Park.

In October, 1917 the house was requisitioned by workers of the plant. The first in Karelia Workers' Club opened there. Due to functional changes, the building was re-planned repeatedly (the enfilade of rooms was substituted with the corridor system, additional partitions and doors were installed there).

At various times there were located the regional committee of RCP(b), a communist club with the auditorium that seated 120 and a library, and a children's musical school. By the XXI century the building was preserved almost in its original form: only the left wing was lost and a staircase was attached to the main facade having disturbed its symmetry.

In the house there lived outstanding mining engineers and metallurgists K. Gascoigne, Roman Armstrong, Alexander Fullon, Nikolai Butenev, Nikolai Felkner.

E. Itsikson
Encyclopedia Karelia is published by PetroPress Publishing House ©
Pervomaisky Ave. 48, Petrozavodsk

Technical support
Created: May 22, 2009. Last updated: September 14, 2009.
© State Committee of the RK for ICT Development, 1998-2015

Карелия официальная. Официальный портал органов государственной власти Республики Карелия
  Русская версияEnglish versionSuomalainen versio
  |О Карелии |Символика   | Правовые акты |  Программы | Газета "Карелия" |Справочники |  
Карта портала Поиск Новое на сайте О портале
Дом горного начальника

Дом горного начальника

Дом горного начальника

Старейшее деревянное здание Петрозаводска, памятник истории. До 1917 года место жительства директоров Александровского завода и управляющих Олонецким горным округом. Построен в 1770-х годах для заводской конторы. В 1786 г. перестроен под жилье для К. К. Гаскойна.

Представляет собой уникальный для Петрозаводска сохранившийся ансамбль городской усадьбы эпохи классицизма. Вокруг 2-этажного деревянного дома на высоком каменном цоколе крыльями расположились 2-этажные каменные службы и маленькие флигели, поставленные торцом к улице. Фронтон главного фасада украшен большим полукруглым окном. Выделенные белым цветом угловые пилястры, горизонтальные тяги и фигурные наличники окон дополняют декоративное убранство. Фасад, обращенный в сад, решен более пластично (интересен двухсветный эркер главного зала), что придает зданию с «внутренней» стороны характер загородного дома.

Традиционный усадебный парк, выдержанный в стиле регулярного «голландского сада» у здания, переходил к пейзажному, устроенному среди естественного древостоя соснового леса. По праздникам сад открывался для гуляний рабочих Александровского завода. Сад горного начальника, слившись с губернаторским садом, явился основой будущего Парка пионеров.

В октябре 1917 года дом реквизирован рабочими завода. В нем был открыт первый в Карелии рабочий клуб. В связи с изменениями функционального назначения здания неоднократно проводилась перепланировка (анфиладу комнат сменила коридорная система, устанавливались дополнительные перегородки, двери).

В разное время здесь размещались областной комитет РКП(б), коммунистический клуб со зрительным залом на 120 мест и библиотекой, детская музыкальная школа. Дом сохранился до 21 века практически в том виде, в каком был построен: утрачен лишь левый флигель и пристроена лестничная клетка, нарушившая симметрию главного фасада.

В доме жили выдающиеся горные инженеры и металлурги К. Гаскойн, Р. Армстронг, А. Фуллон, Н. Бутенев, Н. Фелькнер.

Е. Е. Ициксон
Энциклопедия «Карелия» выпущена Издательским Домом «Петропресс» ©
г. Петрозаводск, пр. Первомайский, д. 48

Техническая поддержка портала
Создано 22 мая 2009. Отредактировано 30 июня 2009.
© Администрация Главы Республики Карелия, 1998-2018
При использовании материалов гиперссылка на портал обязательна.