The Official Karelia
   English versionSuomalainen versio
  |About Karelia |Symbols   |Tourism |  Cooperation |

Kivach nature reserve

Kivach nature reserve

Kivach nature reserve

The territory with center in the settlement of Kivach where the standard natural zone of the middle subzone of European taiga is taken under protection. It is located in Kondopoga region, 18 km to the northwest from Kondopoga. It was founded in 1931. The nature reserve occupies 10870 hectares, its conservation zone makes 5888 hectares. The place has got the name from the Kivach waterfalls on the Suna River.

In the conservation zone there is the geological nature sanctuary of Sundozersky open-cast. Large forests occupy more than 80% of the reserve's territory. The most valueable there are ripe, mainly coniferous woods. Their average age makes 120 years, and some pines are about 300-350 years old. Alongside with conifer and deciduous species typical for the region there also are broad-leaved tree: lindens, mountain elms, black alders. About 5% of the territory of the Kivach nature reserve is occupied with bogs with rich vegetative cover.

The flora totals more than 780 species of vascular plants, 325 species of lichens and 193 species of leafy mosses. Among them there are many rare, protected in Karelia. Species usual for the middle subzone of taiga dominate there: bilberries, cowberries, twinflower (Linnaea borealis), stiff club-moss, sylvan horsetail, etc. Among the rare red-listed species there are lady's slipper, ghost orchid, spring and lake quillworts.

In territory of the Kivach nature reserve there are 271 species of ground vertebrates, including 47 species of mammals, 216 species of birds, 3 species of reptiles and 5 species amphibious is registered. 25 species of fishes live in reservoirs. There have been revealed 276 species of spiders, 3531 species of insects. Of them 107 species are included in the Red book of Karelia. More than 60% of animal species live on the woods, middle taiga for the most part: red-backed mice, squirrels, mountain hares, bears, mooses, hazel-grouses, wood-grouses, goldeneyes, chaffinches, willow wrens, brown frogs. There are also representatives of southern wood and forest-steppe zones, as well as tundra and northern taiga. Amond the northern species there should be mentioned three-toed woodpecker, white grouse, in some years wood lemmings were found. Amond the southern species thereb should be mentioned wild boars, lake seagulls, blackbirds, and wood warblers. Gluttons, roe deers, quails, nighthawks, orioles, nightingales and included in the Red Book of Russia fish hawks, white-tailed eagles, peregrines, and golden eagles are found seldom.

T. Khokhlova
Encyclopedia Karelia is published by PetroPress Publishing House ©
Pervomaisky Ave. 48, Petrozavodsk

Technical support
Created: May 22, 2009. Last updated: September 16, 2009.
© State Committee of the RK for ICT Development, 1998-2015

Карелия официальная. Официальный портал органов государственной власти Республики Карелия
  Русская версияEnglish versionSuomalainen versio
  |О Карелии |Символика   |Нормативные документы |  Программы | Газета "Карелия" |Справочники |  
Карта портала Поиск Новое на сайте О портале
Заповедник «Кивач»

Заповедник «Кивач»

Заповедник «Кивач»

Территория с центром в поселке Кивач, на которой взят под охрану эталонный участок средней подзоны европейской тайги. Находится в Кондопожском районе, в 18 км к северо-западу от Кондопоги. Учрежден в 1931 году. Общая площадь — 10870 га, охранная зона — 5888 га. Получил название от водопада Кивач на реке Суна.

В охранной зоне располагается также геологический памятник природы — Сундозерский разрез. Лесные массивы занимают более 80 процентов территории резервата. Основную ценность представляют спелые, преимущественно хвойные леса. Их средний возраст 120 лет, при возрасте отдельных сосен до 300-350 лет. Наряду с типичными для региона хвойными и лиственными породами в небольшом числе встречаются широколиственные деревья: липа, вяз шершавый, ольха черная. Около 5 процентов территории заповедника «Кивач» занимают болота с богатым растительным покровом.

Флора насчитывает более 780 видов сосудистых растений, 325 видов лишайников и 193 вида листостебельных мхов. Среди них множество редких, охраняемых в Карелии. Доминируют виды, обычные для средней подзоны тайги: черника, брусника, линнея северная, плаун годичный, хвощ лесной и другие. Из редких видов, занесенных в Красную книгу России, — венерин башмачок, надбородник безлистный, полушники щетинистый и озерный.

На территории заповедниека «Кивач» зарегистрирован 271 вид наземных позвоночных, в том числе 47 видов млекопитающих, 216 видов птиц, 3 вида рептилий и 5 видов земноводных. В водоемах обитают 25 видов рыб. Выявлено 276 видов пауков, 3531 вид насекомых. Из них в Красной книге Карелии 107 видов. Более 60 процентов видов животных — обитатели лесов, в основном средней тайги: рыжая полевка, белка, заяц-беляк, медведь, лось, рябчик, глухарь, гоголь, зяблик, пеночка-весничка, травяная лягушка. Встречаются и представители южной лесной и лесостепной зон, а также тундры и северной тайги. Из северных видов здесь вполне обычны лишь трехпалый дятел, белая куропатка, в отдельные годы — лемминг лесной. Из южных — кабан, озерная чайка, черный дрозд, пеночка-трещотка. Редко встречаются росомаха, косуля, перепел, козодой, иволга, соловей и включенные в Красную книгу России скопа, орлан-белохвост, сапсан, беркут.

Т. Ю. Хохлова
Энциклопедия «Карелия» выпущена Издательским Домом «Петропресс» ©
г. Петрозаводск, пр. Первомайский, д. 48

Техническая поддержка портала
Создано 22 мая 2009. Отредактировано 30 июня 2009.
© Администрация Главы Республики Карелия, 1998-2016
При использовании материалов гиперссылка на портал обязательна.