the beginning of the section
the Republic on the European map
historical precis
brief economic-geographical precis
economic development
region ecology
tourist sights
religion denominations
towns
symbolics
Official government server

From the history of Karelia

from the history of Karelia | the most important historical dates and events

Page 3

At the end of the 16th-beginning of the 17th century Sweden makes its expansion to the East. In 1610-1611 the Russians and Karelians heroically defended the town of Korela from Swedish troops. They could seized the town only after 6 month siege. Under conditions of Stolbovsky treaty of 1617 Russia ceded Karelian istmouth to Sweden and as a result a lot of Karelians moved to the territory of Russian state. The migrants settled both in boundary and central districts of Russia. The largest part of them (25-30 thousand) settled down on the territory of Tverskoy land and it gave life to the ethnic group of the so called Tversky Karelians.

With the loss of Karelian istmouth the fortress-town Olonets built in 1649 became an administrative and trade center of Karelia. In the 17th century iron work crafts were very popular among peasants, the goods being brought to Tverskaya fair. Shungskaya fair in Zaonezhye became more important as it served as a link between Karelian Pomorye and Southern Karelia.

Under Peter the First power the set of mining plants was built on the territory of Karelia. It was called Olonetsky mining plants (Petrovsky, Povenetsky, Alexeevsky, Konchesersky). These plants played a very important role at the time of Northern war. They supplied the Russian Army and Navy with cannons, cannon balls, pistols, swards and other armament. Petrovsky plant gave life to Petrovsky settlement (1703), then grown into the town of Petrozavodsk. Under Nishtadtsky peaceful treaty of 1721 the Karelian istmouth was given back to Russia.

From the history of Karelia | the most important historical dates and events


Official infirmation
(C) 1999 Government RK

webmaster@gov.karelia.ru


[ site map ] previous page[  1   2   3   4   5   6   7  ] next page

Начало раздела
республика на карте европы
историческая справка
краткая экономико-географическая справка
экономическое развитие
экология региона
туристические достопримечательности
религиозные объединения
города
символика

Official government server

Из истории Карелии

из истории Карелии | основные исторические даты и события
видные деятели государства, науки, культуры

столица Республики Карелия - город Петрозаводск
Петрозаводская коммуна

Страница 3

В конце 16 - начале 17 вв. вновь усиливается экспансия Швеции на восток. В 1610-1611 гг. русские и карелы героически обороняли г. Корелу от шведских войск, которым удалось овладеть городом лишь после 6-месячной осады. По Столбовскому договору 1617 г. Россия была вынуждена оставить за Швецией Карельский перешеек, что привело к массовому переселению карел на территорию Русского государства. Переселенцы селились как в пограничных, так и в центральных районах России. Наибольшее их число (25-30 тыс.) осело на территории Тверского края, в результате чего сформировалась этническая группа тверских карел.

С потерей Карельского перешейка административным и торговым центром Карелии стал построенный в 1649 г. город-крепость Олонец. В 17 в. в крае значительное развитие получили крестьянские железоделательные промыслы, продукция которых вывозилась на Тихвинскую ярмарку. Возросло значение Шунгской ярмарки в Заонежье, через которую осуществлялась связь между Карельским Поморьем и Южной Карелией.

При Петре 1 на территории Карелии была построена группа Олонецких горных заводов (Петровский, Повенецкий, Алексеевский, Кончезерский), сыгравшая во время Северной войны 1700-1721 гг. важную роль в обеспечении русской армии и флота пушками, ружьями и другим снаряжением. Петровский завод (1703) дал жизнь одноименной слободе, выросшей в дальнейшем в г. Петрозаводск. По Ништадтскому мирному договору 1721 г. Карельский перешеек возвратился в состав России.

из истории Карелии | основные исторические даты и события
видные деятели государства, науки, культуры

столица Республики Карелия - город Петрозаводск
Петрозаводская коммуна


Официальная информация
(C) 1999 Правительство РК

webmaster@gov.karelia.ru


[ карта раздела ] предыдущая страница[  1   2   3   4   5   6   7  ] следующая страница