the beginning of the section
the Republic on the European map
historical precis
brief economic-geographical precis
economic development
region ecology
tourist sights
religion denominations
towns
symbolics
Official government server

From the history of Karelia

from the history of Karelia | the most important historical dates and events

Page 6

The Republic suffered great loses under repression of 1930. Thousands of people, the brain and sole of the nation were put to death and tortured in labor camps. The Chairman of Sovnarcom E. Gyulling, the first secretary of CPSU G. Rovio were among them.

After the Soviet-Finnish war of 1930-1940 Karelian ASSR was transformed into Karelian-Finnish SSR in March, 31, 1940. The status of the union republic was kept till 1956, when Karelia became an autonomous republic in RSFSR structure.

During the Great Patriotic war of 1941-1945 the biggest part of Karelian Republic was occupied by Finnish and German-fascist troops. More than 100 thousand of Karelian citizens struggled in the Soviet Army troops and in guerilla groups. June 21, 1944 the troops of Karelian battle-front were on the offensive and June 28 Petrozavodsk was set free. At the end of July the Soviet troops came to the state border of the USSR on Finland. Thousands of Karelian citizens were honored by the state awards for their heroic deeds on the battle fields and in the home front. 26 people were awarded by the title "The Hero of the Soviet Union". The war brought a lot of harm to Karelian economy and culture. Nearly 200 enterprises, schools, clubs were completely destroyed. By 1950 the economy had been rebuilt and achieved the pre-war level. Karelian wood supply had played an important role in rebuilding destroyed towns and settlements of the European part of the country. The logging had increased till the middle of 1960, then it was began decreasing as new branches of industry had to be developed - pulp and paper, mining, machine making, metal processing. New enterprises were built and started: Petrozavodskbummash, Radio plant, Kostomukshsky GOK- the latter was build in cooperation with Finnish firms.

From the history of Karelia | the most important historical dates and events


Official information
(C) 1999 Government RK

webmaster@gov.karelia.ru


[ site map ] previous page[ 1    2   3   4   5   6   7  ] the next page

Начало раздела
республика на карте европы
историческая справка
краткая экономико-географическая справка
экономическое развитие
экология региона
туристические достопримечательности
религиозные объединения
города
символика
menu11.gif (116 bytes)

Official government server

Из истории Карелии

из истории Карелии | основные исторические даты и события
видные деятели государства, науки, культуры

столица Республики Карелия - город Петрозаводск
Петрозаводская коммуна

Страница 6

Невосполнимый урон республике нанесли массовые репрессии 1930-х, от которых безвинно пострадали тысячи людей, в том числе высококвалифицированые специалисты народного хозяйства, деятели культуры, руководящие партийные и хозяйственные работники (Председатель СНК Э.А.Гюллинг, первый секретарь ОК ВКП(б) Г.С.Ровио и др.)

После советско-финляндской войны 1939-1940 гг. Карельская АССР была преобразована 31 марта 1940 г. в Карело-Финскую ССР. Статус союзной республики сохранялся до 1956 г., когда Карелия вновь стала автономной республикой в составе РСФСР.

В годы Великой Отечественной войны 1941-1945 большая часть территории Карелии была оккупирована финскими и немецко-фашистскими войсками. Свыше 100 тыс. жителей Карелии сражалось в рядах Советской Армии и партизанских отрядах. 21 июня 1944 г. войска Карельского фронта перешли в наступление и 28 июня освободили Петрозаводск. В конце июля советские войска вышли к государственной границе СССР с Финляндией. За героизм на фронте и самоотверженный труд в тылу тысячи уроженцев Карелии удостоены правительственных наград, 26 чел. присвоено звание Героя Советского Союза. Война нанесла большой ущерб народному хозяйству и культуре Карелии. Было разрушено около 200 предприятий, школы, клубы. К 1950 г. народное хозяйство края было восстановлено, достигнув по основным показателям довоенного уровня. Поставки древесины из Карелии сыграли важную роль в восстановлении разрушенных городов и сел Европейской части страны. Дальнейшее наращивание объемов лесозаготовок в крае продолжалось до середины 1960-х гг., когда был взят курс на постепенное их сокращение и преимущественноее развитие других отраслей, имевших общесоюзное значение - целлюлозно-бумажной, горнодобывающей, машиностроения и металлобработки. Были введены в строй завод "Петрозаводскбуммаш" Петрозаводский радиозавод, Костомукшский ГОК сооруженный в сотрудничестве с фирмами Финляндии.

из истории Карелии | основные исторические даты и события
видные деятели государства, науки, культуры

столица Республики Карелия - город Петрозаводск
Петрозаводская коммуна


Официальная информация
(C) 1999 Правительство РК

webmaster@gov.karelia.ru


[ карта раздела ] предыдущая страница[  1   2   3   4   5   6   7  ] следующая страница