The Official Karelia
  Русская версияEnglish versionSuomalainen versio
  |About Karelia |Symbols   |Tourism |  Cooperation |

Outstanding Scientists

Konstantin Arseniev (1789-1865)

Konstantin Ivanovich Arseniev was a geographer, statistician and historian, the full member of the Russian Academy (1836), the academician of the Petersburg Academy of Science. Ha has founded the Central statistical committee of Russia, and was one of the founders of home economic geography. He started his scientific way in Karelia having written a monography Description of Olonets Mining Factories (1812-13, published in 1830). Also he has spent his last years here. Konstantin Arseniev died and was buried in Petrozavodsk.

Pavel Rybnikov (1831-1885)

Pavel Nikolaevich Rybnikov was a specialist in folklore and ethnography. In 1859-1866 he has been deported to the Olonets province. He has opened the real existence of the Russian epos here and published recorded bylinas and other genres of the folklore in his four-volume set of works The Songs Collected by P.Rybnikov (1861-1867). Pavel Rybnikov was awarded with a gold medal of the Russian geographical society and the Demidov premium (1864).

Phillip Fortunatov (1848-1914)

Phillip Fedorovich Fortunatov was a linguist, the academician of the Petersburg Academy of Science since 1898. He has founded the Moscow linguistic school which has been a figure in development of the general and comparative-historical linguistics. Academician Fortunatov laid the foundation of formal grammar. In 1857-63 he studied in the Petrozavodsk grammar school. Since 1894 in summertime he used to come to work and have a rest in Kosalma, near Petrozavodsk. He has died and was buried in Kosalma.

Dmitry Bubrih (1890-1949)

Dmitry Vladimirovich Bubrih was a linguist, the corresponding member of the Academy of Science of the USSR (1946). He has founded Finno-Ugric studies in Russia. He was the author of fundamental works on phonetics and morphology of Finno-Ugric languages and ethnogeny of Finno-Ugric peoples. Since 1940 he was the professor, the Head of the Chair at Petrozavodsk State University, in 1947-49 he was the director of the Institute of Language, Literature and History of the Karelian-Finnish research base of the Academy of Science of the USSR.

Alexander Polkanov (1888-1963)

Alexander Aleksandrovich Polkanov was the geologist, academician of the Academy of Science of the USSR (1943), the winner of the Lenin premium (1962). He was the author of fundamental works on petrology of intrusive rocks and Pre-Cambrian geochronology. A.Polkanov was one of the discoverers of the potassium-argon method of geological formations' dating, and had accomplished expedition researches in Karelia since 1920s. In 1946-1947 he was the first director of the Karelian-Finnish research base of the Academy of Science of the USSR (nowadays Karelian Research Centerof the Russian Academy of Science). He has done a great work on resourcing, definition of the basic spheres for scientific researches, solving problems of material support of the Academy of Science of the USSR that was a new complex institution.

Kauko Krats (1914-1983)

Kauko Ottovich Krats was a geologist, the corresponding member of the Academy of Science of the USSR (1968). One of the first-rate researchers in geology, geochronology and petrography of the Baltic board. From 1946 to 1959 Kauko Krats was a research fellow of the sector (Institute) of geology of the Karelian-Finnish (Karelian) branch of the Academy of Science of the USSR. In 1962-1966 he was the Director of the Institute of geology of the Karelian-Finnish Academy of Science of the USSR.

Technical support
Created: November 18, 2004. Last updated: November 18, 2004.
© State Committee of the RK for ICT Development, 1998-2015

Карелия официальная. Официальный портал органов государственной власти Республики Карелия
  Русская версияEnglish versionSuomalainen versio
  |О Карелии |Символика   | Правовые акты |  Программы | Газета "Карелия" |Справочники |  
Карта портала Поиск Новое на сайте О портале
Видные деятели науки

Арсеньев Константин Иванович (1789-1865)

Ученый географ, статистик и историк, действительный член Российской Академии (1836), академик Петербургской АН. Основатель Центрального статистического комитета России, один из основоположников отечественной экономической географии. В Карелии начал научный путь, написав работу "Описание Олонецких горных заводов." (1812-1813, опубликована в 1830) Здесь же провел последние годы жизни. Умер и похоронен в Петрозаводске.

Рыбников Павел Николаевич (1831-1885)

Фольклорист, этнограф. В 1859-1866 гг. отбывал ссылку в Олонецкой губернии. Открыл здесь живое бытование русского эпоса. Опубликовал записи былин и других жанров фольклора в четырехтомном собрании "Песни, собранные П.Н.Рыбниковым" (1861-1867). Награжден золотой медалью Русского географического общества и Демидовской премией (1864).

Фортунатов Филипп Федорович (1848-1914)

Языковед, академик Петербургской АН с 1898 г. Основоположник московской лингвистической школы, сыгравшей важную роль в развитии общего и сравнительно-исторического языкознания. Заложил основы формальной грамматики. В 1857-63 гг. учился в Петрозаводской гимназии. С 1894 г. в летнее время работал и отдыхал в Косалме, близ Петрозаводска. Умер и похоронен в Косалме.

Бубрих Дмитрий Владимирович (1890-1949)

Языковед, член-корреспондент АН СССР (1946). Основоположник российского финно-угроведения. Автор фундаментальных работ по фонетике и морфологии финно-угорских языков и этногенезу финно-угорских народов. С 1940 г. - профессор, зав. кафедрой Петрозаводского университета, в 1947-49 гг. - директор Института языка, литературы и истории Карело-Финской научно-исследовательской базы АН СССР.

Полканов Александр Александрович (1888-1963)

Геолог, академик АН СССР (1943), лауреат Ленинской премии (1962). Автор фундаментальных трудов по петрологии интрузивных горных пород и геохронологии докембрия. Один из открывателей калий-аргонового метода определения возраста геологических формаций. Экспедиционные исследования в Карелии вел с 1920-х гг. В 1946-1947 гг. - первый директор Карело-Финской научно-исследовательской базы АН СССР (ныне Карельский НЦ РАН). Провел большую работу по комплектованию кадров, определению основных направлений научных исследований, решению вопросов материально-технического обеспечения нового комплексного учреждения АН СССР.

Кратц Кауко Оттович (1914-1983)

Геолог, член-корреспондент АН СССР (1968). Один из крупнейших исследователей геологии, геохронологии и петрографии Балтийского щита. С 1946 по 1959 гг - научный сотрудник сектора (Института) геологии Карело-Финского (Карельского) филиала АН СССР. В 1962-1966 гг. - директор Института геологии КФ АН СССР.

Техническая поддержка портала
Создано 18 ноября 2004. Отредактировано 19 января 2005.
© Администрация Главы Республики Карелия, 1998-2018
При использовании материалов гиперссылка на портал обязательна.