The Official Karelia
  Русская версияEnglish versionSuomalainen versio
  |About Karelia |Symbols   |Tourism |  Cooperation |

Marble mine park Ruskeala

Marble mine park Ruskeala, one of the most outstanding and amazing places of Northern Ladoga Lakeside, is a remarkable natural and artificial sight simultaneously.

The pearl of the mine park is marble quarries. The old abandoned marble quarry that had been mined for almost three centuries today is equipped for tourist admiring historical heritage and "collectors" of natural phenomena and views.

A huge man-made bowl in the solid mass of the marble layer stretches 460 meters from north to south and is 109 meters wide. Filled with pure ground water of emerald green color it is surrounded by both slightly sloping and sheer marble rocks reaching up to 25 meters high above the water surface.

Edges of the open-pit mine are veined by surface and underwater adits, galleries and mines. The general extent of the accessible passages prepared for sightseeing runs to several hundreds meters. Survey of underwater mines is available for high-skilled divers only.

Protected exotic mosses, lichens, orchidaceous plants, shrub vegetation grow in the territory of the park; rare species of reptiles, amphibia, and wing-handed animals range there.

The unique natural object is as well a monument of industrial history of four peoples – Karelians, Swedes, Russian, and Finns. There is no other monument in Europe representing a man-made bowl in the layer of solid marble cut with the system of mines, adits and galleries.

In 1766 a marble deposit was discovered near the Village of Ruskeala by pastor and regional ethnographer S.Apelius of Serdobol. In the following years а marble quarry was opened, which could offer four brands of marble – ash-grey, grey-green, white with grey streaks and white-grey- blue.

The marble was used for buildings in St. Petersburg from the second half of the 17th to the middle of the 19th centuries and in Sortavala and Valaam in the late 19th – early 20th centuries. There has also been а lime production based on the marble in Ruskeala.

Technical support
Created: December 19, 2013. Last updated: December 19, 2013.
© State Committee of the RK for ICT Development, 1998-2015

Карелия официальная. Официальный портал органов государственной власти Республики Карелия
  Русская версияEnglish versionSuomalainen versio
  |О Карелии |Символика   | Правовые акты |  Программы | Газета "Карелия" |Справочники |  
Карта портала Поиск Новое на сайте О портале
Горный парк "Рускеала"

Одно из ярчайших и удивительных мест Северного Приладожья – горный парк "Рускеала" – единственный в своем роде комплексный памятник природы и истории горного дела.

Жемчужина Горного парка – Мраморный каньон. Старый и заброшенный карьер добычи камня, разрабатывавшийся почти три столетия, сегодня обустроен для посещения туристов, почитателей исторического наследия и "коллекционеров" природных феноменов и видов.

Огромная чаша, вырубленная руками человека в массиве мраморного пласта, простирается с севера на юг на 456 метров, ширина 109 метров. Наполненная чистейшей водой изумрудного оттенка, она обрамлена как пологими, так и отвесными скалами, достигающими высоты 25 метров над зеркалом вод.

Борта каньона пронизаны надводными и подводными штольнями, штреками и шахтами. Общая протяженность доступных и подготовленных для обозрения выработок достигает нескольких сотен метров. Осмотр подводных шахт возможен только подготовленными дайверами.

На территории Горного парка сохранились экзотические мхи, лишайники, орхидейные растения, кустарники, занесенные в "Красную книгу"; водятся редкие виды пресмыкающихся, земноводных, рукокрылых.

Уникальный природный объект является также и памятником индустриальной истории четырех народов – карелов, шведов, русских и финнов. Подобного памятника, представляющего собой рукотворную "чашу" в сплошном массиве мраморов, прорезанного системой шахт, штолен и штреков, в Европе больше нет.

Месторождение мрамора близ деревни Рускеала было открыто сердобольским пастором-краеведом С.Апелиусом в 1766 году. В последующие годы на этой территории была организована добыча мрамора четырех сортов: пепельно-серого, серо-зеленого, белого с серыми прожилками и бело-серо-синего.

Мрамор использовался при отделке архитектурных сооружений Петербурга во второй половине ХVIII – середине XIX веков, г.Сортавала и Валаама в конце XIX – начале ХХ веков. Из того же мрамора в Рускеале было организовано производство извести.

Техническая поддержка портала
Создано 19 декабря 2013. Отредактировано 19 декабря 2013.
© Администрация Главы Республики Карелия, 1998-2016
При использовании материалов гиперссылка на портал обязательна.