The Official Karelia
  Русская версияEnglish versionSuomalainen versio
  |About Karelia |Symbols   |Tourism |  Cooperation |

The KIZHI State Open-Air Museum of History, Architecture and Ethnography

Kizhi is one of the one thousand six hundred fifty islands of Lake Onego where on a small eminence in the middle of water there rise amazing and inimitable pieces of North Russian architecture. It is impossible to visit Karelia without taking a trip to Kizhi. Wooden churches and log huts made by Karelian carpenters became masterpieces of world architecture.

Now Kizhi is the open-air museum of wooden architecture. It is located in 65 km distance from Petrozavodsk. Territory of the museum totals more than ten thousand hectares. It includes the Kizhi island itself, and islands located next to it, as well as a site of continental coast. The architectural complex includes 70 monuments of folk wooden architecture of XV-XX centuries. The gem of the complex is the Kizhi Pogost Ensemble. It consists of the Church of the Transfiguration of Our Saviour (1714), the Church of the Intercession (1764) and the bell-tower (1874).

Except for the monuments comprising the basic exposition, in territory of the museum there are a few ancient villages. Valuable natural objects and also monuments of archeology have been revealed there. Church of the Raising of Lazarus which is the most ancient building for public worship in the Russian North (XIV century), a few chapels, peasant houses, many utility structures, such as barns, rick-yards, baths which for centuries were built in Russian, Karelian and Veppsian villages of different areas of Onego lakeside, as well as in the North and South Karelia. Its collection of monuments of architecture totals 76 buildings.

In 1990 the monuments of the Kizhi Pogost and the surrounding buildings were included into the List of the All-World Significant Cultural and Natural Heritage by UNESCO general session decision.

For more information on Kizhi island please see the web-site of the The KIZHI State Open-Air Museum of History, Architecture and Ethnography

Technical support
Created: October 3, 2001. Last updated: September 17, 2009.
© State Committee of the RK for ICT Development, 1998-2015

Карелия официальная. Официальный портал органов государственной власти Республики Карелия
  Русская версияEnglish versionSuomalainen versio
  |О Карелии |Символика   | Правовые акты |  Программы | Газета "Карелия" |Справочники |  
Карта портала Поиск Новое на сайте О портале
Государственный историко-архитектурный и этнографический музей-заповедник "Кижи"

Кижи - один из тысячи шестиста пятидесяти островов Онежского озера. Но здесь, на маленьком возвышении посреди воды, стоят удивительные, неповторимые создания северной русской архитектуры. Приехать в Карелию и не увидеть Кижи - невозможно. Деревянные церкви и избы, срубленные карельскими плотниками, стали шедеврами мирового зодчества.

Сейчас Кижи - это музей деревянного зодчества под открытым небом. Он расположен в 65 км от города Петрозаводска. Общая территория музея насчитывает более десяти тысяч гектаров. В ее состав входят сам остров Кижи, соседние с ним острова, а также участок материкового побережья. Архитектурный комплекс музея-заповедника включает 70 памятников народного деревянного зодчества XV-XX вв., ядром которого является ансамбль Кижского Погоста, состоящий из Преображенской церкви (1714 г.), Покровской церкви (1764 г.) и колокольни (1874 г.).

Кроме памятников, составляющих основную экспозицию, на территории музея находятся несколько старинных деревень, выявлены ценные природные объекты, а также памятники археологии. На остров перевезены самые ценные, интересные и типичные деревянные постройки со всей Карелии - древнейшая на Русском Севере культовая постройка - церковь Воскрешения Лазаря (XIV век), несколько часовен, крестьянских домов, большое количество хозяйственных построек - амбаров, риг, бань - которые на протяжении столетий строились в русских, карельских и вепсских деревнях разных районов Обонежья, а также Северной и Южной Карелии. Собранная в нем коллекция памятников архитектуры насчитывает 76 построек.

В 1990 году памятники Кижского Погоста и его архитектурное окружение решением генеральной сессии ЮНЕСКО включены в Список Памятников Всемирного культурного и природного наследия.

Остров Кижи:

Техническая поддержка портала
Создано 3 октября 2001. Отредактировано 20 октября 2009.
© Администрация Главы Республики Карелия, 1998-2016
При использовании материалов гиперссылка на портал обязательна.